Winners announced in PubAid Community Pub Hero Awards

PubAid Community Pub Heroes Winners

Three pubs have been named as overall winners in the Community Pub Hero Awards, the national competition organised by PubAid and the All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group (APPBG) and sponsored by Matthew Clark

The winners were selected from a list of 15 finalists, who all impressed the judges with their outstanding support for their local communities and charity:

PubAid co-founder Des O’Flanagan added: “We received 200 entries for our awards, so reaching the final 15 was an achievement in itself and going on to take one of the top awards is a triumph! We’re delighted with the recognition the Awards give to all our finalists and winners, who are truly a force for good in their communities.”
The Rt Hon Alun Cairns MP, Chairman of the All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group, said: “We were delighted to receive 70 nominations from MPs, which shows how pubs are valued as hubs of charity and community support in constituencies across the country. Congratulations to all three Community Pub Heroes.”

Presenting trophies to the winners, Matthew Clark Trade Marketing Director John Steele said: “We are delighted to recognise the incredible community and charity support provided by our winners, by naming them as our overall Community Pub Heroes. Congratulations to all three pubs for this well-deserved recognition.”

Each winning pub received a trophy and both Matthew Clark and PubAid will be donating £250 each to a charity chosen by the pub.